Share This Page

MBA Students Win Milwaukee CFA Institute Research Challenge

by Staff Monday, March 5, 2012

The CFA Society of Milwaukee announced today the Wisconsin School of Business team has won the local competition of the CFA Institute Research Challenge and will now advance to the Americas regional challenge, where it will compete with universities from Canada, the United States, and South America.

The students presented their analysis and investment recommendation on Joy Global, a worldwide leader in high-productivity mining solutions.  Their presentation at the Milwaukee finale was the result of three months of research, interviews with company management, discussions with competitors and dealers and presentation preparation.  Members of the winning include Brian Bernard, Andrew Bushey, Andrew Lane, Vincent McClendon, and Canan Ozkan.  Drew Justman, CFA, an equity analyst at Madison Investment Advisors, served as Mentor to the team.  Brian Hellmer, CFA, director of the Hawk Center for Applied Security Analysis, served as the group’s faculty advisor.  The panel of judges included Andy Romanowich, CFA, Daniel Murphy, CFA, and Greg Schroeder.

Wisconsin School of Business students competed against students from UW-Oshkosh, UW-Stevens Point, and UW-Whitewater.  The students will now travel to the Americas regional challenge, held on April 9-10, 2012 in New York where they will match wits and their analytical, presentation, and research skills with student teams from Canada, the United States, and South America.

“I’m very proud of this group of talented students,” said Brian Hellmer, a former institutional money manager who now serves as Director of the Hawk Center.  “In addition to the normal demands of their classes, they worked many additional hours researching this company and preparing a presentation highlighting their conclusions.  This is the third year in a row that our students have won the local Research Challenge championship, and it is a tribute to their hard work and dedication. We thank the Milwaukee CFA Society for putting on this event, and look forward to the next round of competition in New York.”   

The winning team from the Wisconsin School of Business consisted of (from left to right) Andrew Lane, Canan Ozkan, Vincent McClendon, Andrew Bushey, and Brian Bernard.