Share This Page
Jan Heide

Heide Earns Lifetime Achievement Award for Contributions to Interorganizational Research

by Staff Monday, August 20, 2012

Professor Jan Heide has been selected as the recipient of the 2012 Interorganizational Special Interest Group’s (IOSIG) Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes sustained excellence and significant contributions to various streams of interorganizational research and service to the profession.

"Jan is producing research at the frontier of knowledge and impacting how business operates," said François Ortalo-Magné, dean of the Wisconsin School of Business. "He has contributed greatly to our school, our campus, the field of marketing, and the world. We applaud his many achievements."

Heide is the Irwin Maier Chair in Marketing for the Wisconsin School of Business at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Heide’s primary teaching and research interests are distribution systems, strategic partnerships, and marketing strategy.

Heide’s research has been internally recognized. In 1998, he won the Harold Maynard award from the Journal of Marketing, and an American Marketing Association study rated him the third most influential individual in the nation in terms of citations for marketing research. He is a three-time winner of the Louis W. Stern Award from the American Marketing Association.

Heide’s work has appeared in top-tier marketing journals as well as journals in allied disciplines of management and economics. These manuscripts have been impactful, with 11,200+ citations on Google Scholar and five articles reaching 1,000+ citations. He has also served on the editorial review board for several top marketing journals, including the Journal of Marketing, Marketing Science, and Journal of Marketing Research.

This year’s IOSIG Lifetime Achievement Award committee notes Jan’s record of publishing conceptual and empirical interorganizational papers in channel, supply chain, buyer-seller, and services relationships. Committee members include Rajdeep Grewal (Pennsylvania State University and Committee Chair), F. Robert Dwyer (University of Cincinnati), and Mrinal Ghosh (University of Arizona).

The Lifetime Achievement Award was conferred to Heide at the annual IOSIG membership reception and meeting held at AMA’s Summer Marketing Educators Conference on Saturday, August 18, 2012, at the Chicago Marriott.