Students in human resources management study how organizations attract, motivate, develop, and retain employees, and how they interact with organizations representing employees. Management studies focus on the activities of leadership, power, decision-making, organizational structure and change, strategy and policy, and the integration of organizational functions. Studies in entrepreneurship are designed for students who are interested in bringing new ideas to the marketplace.

Students admitted to the Wisconsin School of Business may complete a major in management and human resources in four ways:

  • Complete the requirements for the management option only (students still earn a major in MHR)
  • Complete the requirement for the human resources option only (students still earn a major in MHR)
  • Complete the requirements for the entrepreneurship option only (students still earn a major in MHR)
  • Complete the requirements for two of the three options (students still earn a major in MHR)

Note: Completing two options still constitutes one major. Students may not receive credit for completing all three options.

In addition, the following rules apply when combining options:

  • Students may complete only two of three options.
  • For successful completion of TWO options, a student must take a minimum of 18 credits from among the listed courses (21 credits for HR & Entrepreneurship).
  • Double (or triple) counting of MHR 399 across options within the MHR major is prohibited.

Related Student Organizations

Enactus
Sales and Executive Leadership
Sigma Iota Epsilon (SIE)
Society for Human Resource Management
Sports Business Club
Wisconsin Consulting Club (WCC)

Explore Study Abroad

Studying abroad is an excellent way to gain international experience that enhances your business education. Many students also consider a summer program or a short program embedded in a course. Students are encouraged to visit the Study Abroad section to learn more about study abroad opportunities and to meet with their academic advisor to discuss course planning. Students can take a maximum of two courses in their major abroad, and it is recommended that students take MHR 300 prior to studying abroad. Other common course options abroad include core and breadth courses.

Q: How do I declare a major in management and human resources?

A: Students must be admitted to the Wisconsin School of Business in order to declare a major in management and human resources. Please visit our Admissions page for more information. Students indicate their intended major when they apply to the business school. If they are admitted, the major(s) indicated will be declared for them. Students may change their major by completing a Business Major Declaration Form. Turn completed forms in to the front desk in 3150 Grainger Hall.

Q: How do I cancel the management and human resources major?

A: Admitted business students may cancel their declared management and human resources major by completing a Business Major Declaration Form. Turn completed forms in to the front desk in 3150 Grainger Hall.

Q: What are common parallel plans related to management and human resources?

A: Common parallel plans that lead to careers related to management, human resources management or entrepreneurship include the certificate in entrepreneurship for non-business students (Wisconsin School of Business), economics (College of Letters & Science), sociology (L&S), consumer affairs (School of Human Ecology), community and nonprofit leadership (SoHE), or agricultural business management (College of Agricultural and Life Sciences). Students are encouraged to contact the Cross College Advising Service (http://www.ccas.wisc.edu/) or the appropriate school/college for advising related to these or other majors.

Q: How do I run a DARS report for the management and human resources major?

A: Please see the Academic Advising page for information on how to run a DARS report.


Ramon Aldag
Professor
raldag@bus.wisc.edu
BS, MBA, PhD

Adam Bock
Lecturer
bock2@wisc.edu
BS, BA, MBA, PhD

Russell Coff
Professor
Department Chair for Management and Human Resources, Academic Director, Bolz Center for Arts Administration
russ.coff@wisc.edu
BA, PhD

Randall Dunham
Emeritus - Teaching
Faculty Director of CIBER
rdunham@bus.wisc.edu
BA, MA, PhD

Jonathan Eckhardt
Associate Professor
jon.eckhardt@wisc.edu
BS, PhD

Martin Ganco
Associate Professor
Executive Director of the Weinert Center for Entrepreneurship
martin.ganco@wisc.edu
BA, MBA, MA, PhD

Florence Honore
Assistant Professor
honore@wisc.edu
BA, MS, PhD

Loren Kuzuhara
Senior Lecturer
loren.kuzuhara@wisc.edu
BS, MBA, PhD

Min Li
Lecturer
min.li@wisc.edu
BA, MA, PhD

Jirs Meuris
Assistant Professor
meuris@wisc.edu
BA, PhD

Anne Miner
Emeritus - Teaching
Professor Emeritus-Research Fellow
anne.miner@wisc.edu
BA, MS, PhD

Daniel Olszewski
Faculty Associate
Director of the Weinert Center for Entrepreneurship
dan.olszewski@wisc.edu
BS, MBA

Hart Posen
Professor
hposen@wisc.edu
BS, MBA, MS, PhD

Sarada
Assistant Professor
sarada@bus.wisc.edu
BS, MA, PhD

James Sesil
Senior Lecturer
sesil@wisc.edu
BA, MA, PhD

Jihae Shin
Assistant Professor
jshin@bus.wisc.edu
BBA, MBA, PhD

Alex Stajkovic
Associate Professor
Astajkovic@bus.wisc.edu
BS, MA, PhD

John Surdyk
Faculty Associate
Director of INSITE
jsurdyk@bus.wisc.edu
BS, MBA

Ann Terlaak
Associate Professor
ann.terlaak@wisc.edu
MA, PhD

Charles Trevor
Professor
Academic Director of the Strategic Human Resource Management Center
charlie.trevor@wisc.edu
BA, MA, MA, PhD

Maria Triana
Associate Professor
maria.triana@wisc.edu
BBA, MBA, PhD

Meet the academic and career advisors for Management and Human Resources.

Caitlin Quillen
Career Advisor
caitlin.quillen@wisc.edu

Please visit the Contact Advisors and Staff page for information on advising and appointments.