Share This Page

Outstanding Entrepreneurship Students Recognized at the 2017 Weinert Center Luncheon

Friday, May 26, 2017
Weinert Center Award Winners 2017-490

At the Weinert Center luncheon that took place on May 5, 2017 after the WAVE Board Meeting, we recognized six outstanding students for their entrepreneurial achievements. The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation provided student scholarship money in recognition for Professor Jon Eckhardt and Senior Lecturer Phil Greenwood each winning the Schulze Publication Award in 2015 and 2016, respectively, for their contributions to the Entrepreneur & Innovation Exchange (EIX) that have exceptional merit. The five undergraduate award winners were nominated to receive the Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation scholarship by entrepreneurship faculty and staff. The graduate award winner (Ryan Ward) was nominated by his peers in the WAVE (Weinert Applied Ventures in Entrepreneurship) Class for special recognition regarding advice and assistance in making the entire class's idea better.

In addition to receiving the Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation scholarship. Martin (Marty) Kimmel also received the Alan C. Filley and Integrity Mutual Scholarship Award in Entrepreneurship that recognizes students interested in entrepreneurship and that aspire to be an entrepreneur now or in the future. Marty is already involved in several startups, DogSpotting and MobileMunch, to name a few, and embodies the pay-it-forward culture that our faculty/staff have been cultivating among our students. Professor Alan Filley along with Professor Robert Pricer established a center that would later become known as the Weinert Center for Entrepreneurship due to a generous donation from alumnus Jim Weinert. 

Featured in the photo from the left: Jon Eckhardt, Executive Director, Weinert Center for Entrepreneurship; Deja Mason; Catherine Alpeter; Ryan Ward; Emily Swift; Ramon Ortiz III; Martin (Marty) Kimmel and Dan Olszewski, Director of the Weinert Center for Entrepreneurship. 

Congratulations to all of our award winners! We are proud of you and your accomplishments!