Diversity

We continually look for ways to achieve ethnic, socioeconomic, geographic, and other types of diversity among our students. Our goal is to provide a learning environment that enables our graduates to be effective in the kind of world in which they will live and work.

Wisconsin has long had a leading role in diversity efforts among business schools. We are one of three founders of the Consortium for Graduate Study in Management (CGSM).  The Consortium is the nation’s largest diversity network, linking top-tier students, leading MBA programs and corporate partners, including Fortune 500 companies whose mission is to reduce the underrepresentation of African Americans, Native Americans, and Hispanic Americans in education and business. Learn more about earning a Wisconsin MBA and becoming a member of the consortium.

In addition, the Wisconsin School of Business Diversity Advisory Board provides guidance to the director of diversity and climate in shaping the school’s initiatives around the recruitment, retention, and placement of diverse candidates—particularly that of underrepresented candidates—as well as recruitment and retention of diverse faculty and staff. The board also provides guidance on and shares in the assessment of culture and climate matters for the school. Click to learn more >>

Prospective Preview Days/Diversity Summit: October 31 and November 1, 2013

Each fall, the Wisconsin MBA offers a Prospective Preview Day/Diversity Summit for prospective students. The event explores the business case for diversity, brings in keynote speakers and panels of experts, and provides time for reflection and open conversation.

The Diversity Summit also provides the opportunity to meet the staff and find out what the program has to offer:

  • Learn more about admissions, student services, and career management at the Wisconsin School of Business
  • Learn more about the specializations offered as a part of the Wisconsin MBA
  • Take a campus tour
  • Ask questions of current students, alumni, and faculty
  • Sign up for an individual interview with an admissions representative

View the event agenda. We invite you to explore Madison!

Student organizations promoting diversity and cross-cultural awareness at the Wisconsin School of Business and throughout campus include:

Diversity In Business

Diversity In Business is a group of graduate business students from a variety of ethnic and geographical backgrounds. The mission of the organization is to promote diversity and leadership on campus, within the community, and in corporate organizations.

Co-presidents: Jessica Lew, jlew@wisc.edu, and Tosan Olley, olley2@wisc.edu

Treasurer: Joseph Nick, jrnick@wisc.edu

Director of Marketing and Communciations: Abena Afriyie, aafriyie@wisc.edu

Secretary: Luis Valdez, lavaldez@wisc.edu

Director of Community Engagement: Gio Callejas, callejas@wisc.edu

Director of Programs: Marina Cervantes, mcervantes2@wisc.edu

Co-Advisors: Binnu Palta Hill, bhill@bus.wisc.edu and Gina Jenkins, gjenkins@bus.wisc.edu

Out for Business

Out for Business is a social, educational, and career development resource for graduate LGBT business students, alumni, faculty, and administrators and the greater business community.

Co-presidents: Kyle Naff, knaff@wisc.edu, and Morgan O'Neil,  moneil@wisc.edu

Advisor: Mark Matosian, mmatosian@bus.wisc.edu

Graduate Business Christian Fellowship

GBCF seeks to build a supportive network of Christians and spiritual inquirers among graduate business students seeking to integrate their faith and business practice.

President: Rob Brothers, rabrothers@wisc.edu

Advisor: David Ward, dward@bus.wisc.edu

Graduate International Business Association

GIBA promotes involvement in international business education and practice among graduate students in the Wisconsin School of Business.

Co-Presidents: Hema Narasimhan, narasihman2@wisc.edu and Tina Zhao, qzhao47@wisc.edu

Advisor: Maria Reis, mreis@bus.wisc.edu

Graduate Women in Business

GWIB promotes networking and professional development for graduate women of the Wisconsin School of Business and collaborates with the school's Women in Business Council.

Co-Presidents: Kelly Goldthorpe, kgoldthorpe@wisc.edu, and Hema Narasimhan, narasimhan2@wisc.edu

Advisor: Blair Sanford, bsanford@bus.wisc.edu

Net Impact

Net Impact Madison is the local chapter of the global network of emerging leaders committed to using the power of business to create a better world. We are focused on raising discussion regarding social responsibility issues as well as taking action.

Co-Presidents: Maureen Johannigman, johannigman@wisc.edu and Caitrin O'Shea, coshea@wisc.edu

Advisor: Tom Eggert, teggert@bus.wisc.edu